D.Phil. students

  • Kathryn Atwell – Investigating the interplay between cellular mechanics and decision-making in the C. elegans germ line.
  • Bartosz Bartmanski – Efficient methods for simulating stochastic reaction-diffusion models on evolving domains.
  • Casper Beentjes – Stochastic simulation of cell and developmental biology processes.
  • Fergus Cooper – Modelling of multicellular structures during development.
  • Jonathan Harrison – Using quantitative data and mathematical models to interrogate cell and developmental biology processes.
  • Jochen Kursawe – Cell-based models for tissue size regulation.
  • Chris Lester – Multi-level methods for discrete-state stochastic simulation.
  • Andrew Parker – Developing and parameterising models for cell biology processes.
  • Robert Ross – Modelling cell migration, proliferation and interactions on growing domains.
  • Paul Taylor – Stochastic, lattice-based models of diffusion in biological systems.
  • David Warne (QUT) – Efficient computational methods for parameter inference within models of stochastic chemical kinetics.
  • Daniel Wilson – Transport processes on networks.

Past members

  • Dr B Vaughan Jr – Multi-scale modelling and numerical simulation of periodic pattern formation during development (PDRA 2007-2009).
  • Dr Philip Murray – Multi-scale modelling of cellular oscillators: applications to vertebrate segmentation and hair follicle cycling (PDRA 2009-2012).
  • Dr Gareth Stevenson – Facilitating the analysis of electron transfer in chemistry and biochemistry through development of a mathematical framework of ac voltammetry (PDRA 2010-2011, D.Phil. 2010).
  • Dr Thomas Woolley – A new mechanism of motility: the role of the bleb (PDRA 2012-2014).
  • Dr Linus Schumacher – A mathematical exploration of principles of collective cell migration and self-organisation (D.Phil. 2015, EPSRC Doctoral Prize Fellow 2016).
  • Dr Charlotte Jupp – Mathematical modelling of the formation of feather germs in chicks (D.Phil. 2010).
  • Dr Christian Yates – Comparing stochastic discrete and deterministic continuum models for cell migration (D.Phil. 2011).
  • Dr Thomas Woolley – Reaction-diffusion models on growing domains (D.Phil. 2012).
  • Dr Aaron Smith – Cell-based models for morphogenesis (D.Phil. 2012).
  • Dr Suruchi Bakshi – Mathematical modelling of asymmetrically dividing stem cells in Drosophila (D.Phil. 2013).
  • Dr Louise Dyson – Mathematical models for cranial neural crest cell migration (D.Phil. 2013).
  • Dr Gabriel Rosser – Mathematical models for bacterial chemotaxis (D.Phil. 2013).
  • Dr Deborah Markham – Correlations models for cell biology processes (D.Phil. 2014).
  • Dr Graham Morris – Parameter recovery in AC solution-phase voltammetry and a consideration of some issues arising when applied to surface-confined reactions (D.Phil. 2014).
  • Derek Tan – Mathematical modelling of adhesion-mediated somitogenesis (M.Res. 2010).